Who is Jacob?

I’m well aware that it’s been over a week since the Season 3 – Fall Finale aired, but I’ve been busy and I’ve had a tough time figuring out what to say. I was blown away by the episode. It had some of the best moments in the 50+ episodes all wrapped into this one-hour. Sawyer getting on his knees in the rain to sacrifice himself in the hopes of saving Kate was shot so perfectly and Jack, whether you love him or hate him, you have to admit that Matthew Fox played him superbly. With Jack’s words and expressions combined with Benjamin’s facial expressions…Wow!

Back in my blog on October 27, I pointed out that a screen-capture of Eko’s Jesus stick said, “Lift up your eyes and look north”. It’s about time Mr. Locke noticed the darn thing. J What does it mean? I’ll speculate that it’ll be how Locke either finds The Flame station (logo added to my blog banner) or how he helps Kate and Sawyer escape the Others. Yes, I only said Kate and Sawyer for a reason, but it’s still only speculation on my part. I think Jack will be left with the Others for a while, but under very different conditions.

Now while I can take anyone of Jack’s quotes from this episode and comment on how awesome they were, especially the reference to his “fear” speech from the Pilot episode, the quote with perhaps the most significance came from Danny Pickett, “Shepard wasn’t even on Jacob’s list!”

We know from the Executive Producers and from the LOST Experience that there is more than one group of Others, so it only stands to reason that Jacob may be in charge of both of them. Or maybe he’s eye-patch man. BTW – I wonder if the glass eye found in the Arrow station belongs to him? Or…who knows, but I can’t wait to find out. Only 12 more Wednesday’s without LOST.

In the meantime, here’s an excellent link provided by Pedro, which summarizes what the author feels are the top 50 “loose ends” on the show so far. It’s a great way to refresh your memory on what’s happened so far and helps you understand just why you’re so confused about the numbers, submarines, who Jacob is, why the Black Rock is in the middle of the jungle, and so much more. Enjoy!

http://tv.ign.com/articles/745/745595p1.html

Leave a Reply

