Liar Liar

What’s a spinal surgeon to do? Is the soft-spoken and beautiful Juliet (Elizabeth Mitchell) “playing” Jack, so that she can make a power play for control of the Others? Is Ben still messing with Jack? He seems so earnest and sincere <sarcasm>. Here is my observation as to why I think that Ben is still lying:

If Ben needed a spinal surgeon and has contact with the outside world (at least until the Swan station imploded), then why didn’t he just go to one or go get one? Also, Ben doesn’t believe in God, or at the very least he doesn’t believe that God can see the Island, so telling Jack that he believes in God because two days after he found out he was going to die from a spinal tumor, a spinal surgeon falls out of the sky is definitely a lie. That is unless he was lying when he had this conversation with Locke from the episode “Dave” last season:

LOCKE: What’s your name — your real name?
GALE: Why don’t you just keep calling me Henry? I’ve gotten used to it.
LOCKE: Did you get caught on purpose? You and your people have been here for God knows how long, and you got caught in a net…
GALE: God doesn’t know.
LOCKE: Excuse me?
GALE: God doesn’t know how long we’ve been here, John. He can’t see this island any better than the rest of the world can. May I ask you a question? What possible reason could I have for putting myself through all this?
LOCKE: Maybe your people were looking for this place.
GALE: This place? This place is a joke, John.
LOCKE: What are you talking about?
GALE: I crawled through your vents and I stood at your computer as the alarm beeped. And you know what happened? The timer went all the way down to zero, and then some funny red pictures flipped up in its place. They looked like hieroglyphics, but I’m no expert. And then things got real interesting. There was a loud clunking and a hum like a magnet — a big magnet. It was really very frightening. And you know what happened next? Nothing happened, John. Nothing happened at all. Your timer just flipped back to 108. I never entered the numbers. I never pressed the button.
LOCKE: You’re lying.
GALE: No, I’m done lying.

As for Juliet, I’m hoping that she’s not lying. I want to believe her. I guess we’ll find out soon enough. I’m still guessing that we’re going to start liking the Others this season and find out that they are in fact, “the good guys”.

Eko’s dead! Storyline was interesting and well done, but left us with a lot of questions, mainly the same old question about the black smoke monster, what or who is it? Is it good or evil? Beautiful or dark? It’s obviously very judgmental and temperamental. They also seem to allude that it manifested itself to look like Yemi, so maybe it has done the same for Christian Shepard, Kate’s horse, Dave, Boone, etc…

Nikki and Paulo – To steal a line from the Sopranos, “They need to go.” Do I have to spell it out for you? They aggravate me. We get it, she’s cute and makes Locke feel stupid. They are ruining every scene they are in and need to join the TAILies that have died already. BTW – I’m starting to think that the producers are like the judgmental smoke monster. After all, they “coincidentally” kill off two characters that were arrested for drunk driving in an episode titled “Two For the Road” and now they kill off Mr. Eko in an episode called, “The Cost of Living”, after his character was arrested for wreckless driving.

Here are some reveals that the producers spoke about on last week’s podcast:

  • The polar bears escaped from their cages DURING the collapse of the Dharma Initiative (which is also rumored to be when “the incident” occurred). Okay, so what I’m wondering now is how did they get from one island to the other island? Either it’s a serious flaw OR there is still really only one island. Don’t ask me to explain that one. I have a theory, but it’s a little weak. Okay, basically the island either wraps around itself or when Sawyer looked out at the “main” island, it was some sort of reflection of the one he was on. I’m still very stuck on the Desmond snow globe thing. I mean, I half expect to see Jim Carrey (The Truman Show) sail into a wall in the middle of the ocean. Maybe you thought the title of this blog entry was a Ben/Juliet reference and it was, but I was also thinking of Jim Carrey and the snow globe. 🙂
  • Kate Loves Sawyer. (Next week’s preview kind of gives this away too.)
  • There will be a gay character on the show. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

I’ll leave you with some dialogue from the Season 3 Premiere “Tale of Two Cities” during the book club meeting:

ADAM: It’s not even literature. It’s popcorn.
AMELIA: And why isn’t it literature, Adam? I’m dying to know.
ADAM: There’s no metaphor. It’s by-the-numbers religious hocum-pocum.
AMELIA: No metaphor?
ADAM: It’s science fiction — now I know why Ben isn’t here.
JULIET: Excuse me?
ADAM: I know the host picks the book; but seriously, Julie, he wouldn’t read this in the damn bathroom.
JULIET: Well, Adam, I am the host and I do pick the book. And this is my favorite book. So I am absolutely thrilled that you can’t stand it. Silly me for sinking so low as to select something that Ben wouldn’t like. Here I am thinking that free will still actually exists on…<cue plane crash overhead>

Why am I sharing that? Juliet mentioned free will again in last night’s episode during her speech to Jack while “To Kill a Mockingbird” was NOT playing. 🙂

Namaste!

One Response to Liar Liar

  1. JK says:

    Great post Mr. CJB. I think it’s interesting that Eko was offed after he did not repent. Thinking back to the whole purgatory thing, it seems that many of the events on the island are intended to test these people to see if they are reformable or if they are “lost” causes, literally people whose faith has been lost. Isn’t that what all Ben’s mindgames are? I keep going back to that line, I didn’t want you to save me Jack, I wanted you to want to save me. He was sort of imploring him to return to his pre-divorce pre-Dad dying self.

Leave a Reply

